Apostle Islands Historic Preservation Conservancy

Preserving and interpreting historic structures and cultural landscapes throughout the Apostle Islands region of northern Wisconsin.


AIHPC Board of Directors


Tom Gordon (Chairman)

Red Cliff/Bayfield, WI

Robert Dahl (Vice Chairman)

Jacksonville, FL/Sand Island, WI

Ryan Connell (Treasurer/Secretary)

Minneapolis, MN
Bayfield/Rocky Island, WI

Robert Nelson*
(Executive Team Coordinator)

Bayfield/Rocky Island, WI

Nina Archabal

St. Paul, MN

Kathy Benson/Tom Benson

Edina, MN/Rocky Island, WI

Phebe Blackburn**

Indianapolis, IN

John Chapple

Kirkland, WA/
Madeline Island, WI

Joanne Cirillo

Bayfield, WI

Wes Harris**

Bloomington, IN/Sand Island

Curt Jensch**

South  Portland, ME/Sand Island

Steven Lewis

Bayfield, WI/St. Louis, MO

Jim Lynn / James Lynn

Ashland/Rocky Island, WI

Bob Mackreth

Washburn, WI

Hugh Madson

La Pointe, Madeline Island, WI/
Oro Valley, AZ

Heidi M. Nelson*

Bayfield/Rocky Island, WI

Jeff Peters/Jill Peters

Mellen/Sand Island, WI/
Patchogue, NY

Molly Rice

Stillwater, MN/Sand Island, WI

Carolyn Sneed

Washburn, WI

Brian Ross Tanning

St. Paul, MN

*    Shared seat/split vote between Bob and Heidi.
**  Shared seat/split vote for Curt, Phebe, and Wes.



The Conservancy is an IRS-approved 501(c)(3) charitable organization. All donations are deductible for income tax purposes. Donations may be made to the Conservancy’s general fund or designated for a specific purpose. Donations may be sent to:



Secretary AIHPC

P.O. Box 88

Bayfield Wisconsin, 54814